Valentine’s Day 2012

James and I celebrated our 2nd Valentine’s Day last week. It was more like ‘Valentine’s Week’ because I stayed over at his house from Tuesday till Friday. His family was away on Hamilton Island for the week, so we had the place to ourselves. And we had a good time!

I’m a sucker for flowers. I know they only look pretty and they don’t last forever, but it’s just nice to get flowers once in awhile! <3 I also got a new Pandora charm for my bracelet. The charm has 2 crowned hearts (the one in the middle). James said he got it for me because it reminded him of Kingdom Hearts and he knows I’m a fan. Awwww, he’s so cute!

Me, being the cliché girlfriend that I am, wrote him a very long, cheesy card and then wrapped his extremely heavy present in the most cliché Valentine’s Day wrapping paper I could find. Love hearts everywhere! Also, I wasn’t kidding when I said his present was heavy…

I also baked him chocolate caramel brownie hearts. Here’s the recipe. They came out very well, if I may say so myself! Not overly sweet, like a lot of brownies out there. Of course, I made these with good quality dark chocolate (70% cocoa). James made me tasty things, too. Like red velvet cake pops coated in white chocolate and sake chocolate truffles. The sake chocolate tasted like it was infused with toffee or something. Amazing.

 

So, what was the extremely heavy present that I got for James, I hear you ask? Well, it’s not very Valentinesy, but… I got him a nice, wooden mah jong set. Yup. Aren’t I the best girlfriend in the world? It wasn’t exactly the cheapest thing in the world, but I knew James had been dying to learn and play it for a long time. So, we shall learn and we shall play!

 

The boyfriend made us dinner that night. Complete with candles and all. Homemade pizza! My boyfriend makes the most impressively delicious pizzas, you have no idea! I am a very happy girlfriend! :)

The rest of the week passed with us baking/cooking/walking Bella/watching horror movies/being in love. It was a good week. I managed to bake a perfect banana choc chunk sugar loaf. I deserve some sort of baker’s award!

 

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

