14 Months, A New Aquarium, White Day

So, many things have happened since the last time I blogged. On Thursday, 1st of March, James and I celebrated our 14 months together. I stayed over at his place because his parents were away. As a surprise, I baked him some mocha cinnamon chocolate chip cookies in the shape of little hearts. In return, he surprised me with a batch of sugar cookies (a few of which were cut into dinosaur and heart shapes). They were absolutely lovely and the texture was perfect. They were soft but still retained a bit of crunchiness which I always enjoy in sugar cookies. I liked them so much that I asked for the recipe! James wasn’t too happy about them, however. He didn’t think they were good enough as a monthaversary present, so he actually made me another batch of goodies a few days later to make up for his ‘fail’ sugar cookies, although I didn’t think they were bad at all! His other batch of goodies? Wonderfully fluffy little melt-in-your-mouth shortbread cookies dipped in chocolate and pink icing, which honestly blew me away!

Daytime antics at James’ house. We eat and do funny dances. Most of the time. Well, probably all of the time, if we’re not busy baking/cooking in the kitchen.

On Friday afternoon, we had a wonderful little picnic under the shade of one of the billion large palm trees outside James’ house. We had a really nice view of the water. Halfway through the picnic, Pickles and Bonanza flew into the tree we were under to come squeak hello. Well, they were pretty much observing us with their cute little curious stares. One of them eventually hung upside down on one of the palm fronds and stayed in that position long time just looking at us being all cuddly and kissy. I’ve seen Pickles and Bonanza be very cuddly and kissy towards each other and I bet you they think it’s rather nice to see human couples act the same way too!

  

When we went back inside the house, we hung out downstairs (where no one really hangs out), and had a little short-lived competition at the pool table. I lost. Enough said.

 

On Saturday, 3rd March, mum and dad treated us to a yum cha lunch at Top One. It was an extremely filling and satisfying lunch. I don’t spend much time with my busy parents anymore so it was nice to be out with them. After that, James and I visited the huge pet store at Biggera Waters (Brontasurus) to look at cute little animals. From yellow ducklings to Persian kittens to Japanese quails to Mexican Axolotls, this store always has something to offer! I was quite interested in the fish section. I used to keep fish as a kid and my house back in Singapore had a large 90 gallon (~340 litre) aquarium that was full of amazing tropical fish.

Anyway, when we got home from the pet store, guess what my parents had waiting for me in my bedroom! A brand new aquarium! Alright, so it’s tiny (only about 5 or 6 gallons), but still! I now have a new little fish tank sitting in my bedroom! It’s been a week and a bit since I got the tank now, so it’s currently stocked with a bunch of living creatures, but it took a lot of work getting the tank to the state it’s in now! All the rocks and gravel and planting and water testing! Well, at least there’s fish in there now and they seem happy! :)

As well as the aquarium, my parents brought home a tasty mini Japanese cheesecake for James and I to share! ♥

The 6th of March was Ann’s birthday. There was a little family dinner at Naomi’s house. Naomi prepared an awesome bangers and mash dinner, plus bread and butter pudding for dessert. So full afterwards! For Ann’s birthday present, I got her a set of Crabtree and Evelyn products that came in the prettiest box ever, and also, a pashmina cashmere shawl. Ann is James’ mum, by the way!

 
Left: Ella with her daddy, playing with the mini trampoline!
Right: Mohawk’d Ella and her granddaddy!

13th March (Tuesday), James came over and handed me two adorably wrapped presents as early White Day gifts. He stuck little messages written in Japanese on them, which I thought was very clever and cute. Inside the presents were, of course, chocolate. Lindt chocolate. Yummy, yummy!

Well guys, that’s all I have to blog about. I just want to finish off this blog entry by adding that James and I have booked flights to Japan and we’ll be going in May. We’ll be staying in Yokohama and Tokyo. I am extremely excited! Can’t wait!

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

