Spelt Flour and Hazelnut Meal Chocolate Chip Cookies

If I were to pick a favourite ‘flour’ to use in baking, I’d say “almond meal” in a heartbeat. A low carbohydrate alternative to wheat flour has always been a priority for me as of late. Almond meal has been my go-to flour for gluten free, low carb baked goods. Before today, it was the only nut flour available to me to use in my recipes.

Today, I had the wonderful privilege to bake with hazelnut meal. And boy, I wasn’t disappointed. Upon opening the packaging, the scent of hazelnutty goodness hit me. It was like opening a jar of Nutella, only without the sickeningly sweet smell of chocolate and sugar. Already, I knew some amazing creations were going to come out of this!

I experimented a little with this awesome ingredient and came up with a really beautiful treat. The soft yet grainy texture and the unmistakable nutty taste that the ground hazelnuts bring to these cookies leave you wanting more and more and more!

Without further ado, I present to you spelt flour and hazelnut meal chocolate chip cookies! Make it. Make it now. You won’t regret it!

Ingredients:

3/4 cup organic hazelnut meal
3/4 cup organic spelt flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg, lightly whisked
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chip cookies

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line your baking trays with greased baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the spelt flour, hazelnut meal, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a smaller bowl, mix the butter and sugar until just blended.
  4. Stir in the egg and the vanilla, mixing until there is no streaking left.
  5. Pour the wet mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix slowly until the flour is barely combined.
  6. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  7. Spoon half tablespoons of dough onto baking sheet, spacing them 2 inches apart. The dough will spread!
  8. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the cookies have browned noticeably at the edges.
  9. Remove from oven and stand for 10 minutes to cool.

6 thoughts on “Spelt Flour and Hazelnut Meal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Hi, Angie! I came across your blog when I was looking for a spelt flour cookie recipe, and I found it! I made a few tweaks by using almond meal, a little white sugar, and coconut oil. They spread out a lot more, but I really liked the taste with the ground almonds. I would love to link your recipe to my next post, if you don’t mind. :)

    1. Hi there Jennifer! Thanks for trying out my recipe, even if you did tweak it a little. Tweaking is always fun! :) And no problem at all, feel free to link my recipe! If you like, share that next post with me! I’d love to read all about it. :)

    1. Sg? I assume you mean Singapore? Im not so sure where you can get prepackaged hazelnut meal in your country. Here in Australia, you can find it in most supermarkets nowadays, at the baking section or the nuts & dried fruit section. You could try your supermarkets? As for coconut oil, there’s a lot of good information on the internet about the uses of coconut oil. People like to use it in baking because it works as a good substitute to other oils and butters. It is also deemed healthier by some, as well as a good alternative for vegans.

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

