Chewy Fudgey Butterless Chocolate Cookies

Sometimes, experiments don’t go too well. Sometimes, things don’t work the way you want them to. See those adorable looking bear-shaped cookies? They came out of the oven tasteless and dry. Not the best combination, huh? It was a waste to throw them and the rest of the unused cookie dough out. It made me sad that the recipe didn’t work. But then again, I experimented a lot with baking and knew that there would be other chances to get it right. Anyway, I was a little resentful of the oven after that disaster and decided to stay away from the kitchen for awhile.

But then, a few days later, the experimental spirit inside me decided to give baking another shot.

This time, I created something tasty. This time, I got something right.

My boyfriend thinks these are the best cookies I’ve ever made. I wouldn’t say they were the best, but I guess it all boils down to an individual’s personal preference. I thought they were too chewy for me, but James loves chewy cookies so obviously he found them amazing. I used an amalgamation of cocoa powder, hazelnut meal, almond meal and flaxseed meal to form the body of the cookie. Obviously, this makes it a gluten-free cookie. No wheat flours here! Also, I used no butter whatsoever.

The result is a chewy, thick and chunky chocolate cookie reminiscent of fudge brownies. The density of the cookies is a little unreal. I never expected them to turn out like they did. I was expecting them to spread out a bit more, but they didn’t do that so well. So they were, well, dense. Not that that’s a bad thing. They were still lovely and had a mildly grainy texture that was both interesting and unique.

We ate them all in less than a week. James says I should make them for him again. Greedy! ;) Anyway, I’ve talked too much. Here’s the Chewy Fudgey Butterless Chocolate Cookie recipe you’ve been waiting patiently for. Be prepared.

Chewy Fudgey Butterless Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients:

¾ cup cocoa powder
1 cup raw sugar
1 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 cup flaxseed meal
¾ cup hazelnut meal
¼ cup almond meal
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 large egg whites
1 tablespoon milk

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 190°C and line baking tray with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cocoa powder, sugars, salt and meals. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk the egg whites, vanilla and milk until combined.
  4. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until very well combined.
  5. Roll tablespoons of dough into balls and place onto baking tray, flattening them slightly with a fork.
  6. Reduce the oven temperature to 160°C and bake cookies for 15 minutes (for a chewier cookie), or 20 minutes (for a harder cookie).
  7. Remove cookies from oven and transfer them to a wire rack to cool.

One thought on “Chewy Fudgey Butterless Chocolate Cookies

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

