Eggless Honey and Chia Seed Brownies

In the last few days that I’ve been away from this blog, a lot has happened in the world. Perhaps one of the most important things is that the charming Mr. Obama has been re-elected as president of the United States. I’m honestly relieved and glad that America has decided to give their president more time to do what’s best for their country. The world is rapidly changing and I believe that Obama has what it takes to lead America in the right direction over his next four years in office.

Today started off dismal. Rain and gloom took over the usual morning sunshine. Of course, it was cosy weather, and I was tempted to bury myself under the covers and sleep my day away. But, alas, we had visitors coming over in the late afternoon and I felt the need to prepare a little something. So, I baked brownies. Except, I found out about the lack of eggs in my kitchen and had to improvise. This isn’t an odd occurrence. I improvise a lot in the kitchen, and doing so has led me to discovering many wonderful new recipes.

Sweetened with honey, sprinkled with tiny chia seeds, held together by ground flaxseeds. This is a different take on the ever popular chocolate brownie. Different meaning slightly healthier. Different meaning ridiculously delicious. “Mmm. You can actually taste the honey!” James exclaimed when I he took a bite. I glowed with pride. Baking ooey, gooey, melt-in-your-mouth brownies without eggs is actually achievable. And sinfully yummy. Possibly one of the best I’ve ever had. These are just so special.

The added honey gives the brownies an über soft, moist and delicate crumb, which is why it is so important to let them cool completely once out of the oven so they harden a little and don’t completely crumble when you cut them into bars. Once out of the oven, the chia seeds sprinkled atop the brownies will have roasted to crispy perfection. They add a fantastic crunch to an already crispy chocolate shell.

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
A pinch of salt
180g good quality dark chocolate*, chopped
1/2 cup butter, cubed
1/2 cup raw caster sugar
1/2 cup honey, warmed
2 tablespoons ground flaxseeds**
6 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon black & white chia seeds, for sprinkling

* I used Lindt 70% Cocoa Specialty Cooking Chocolate.
** I used Melrose Organic Golden Flaxmeal. I find that the golden variety gives a more subtle flavour to baked goods. Brown flax might leave too strong an aftertaste.

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line an 8″ square baking pan with non-stick baking paper.
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Set aside.
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter together to get a smooth, shiny mixture. Here are some excellent tips on melting chocolate.
  4. Pour the hot mixture into a large bowl and leave to cool for a few minutes.
  5. Beat in the caster sugar and honey until well blended.
  6. Combine ground flaxseeds with the 6 tablespoons of water and stir until a gooey, coagulated mixture forms.
  7. Add flax mixture to chocolate mixture. Mix thoroughly.
  8. Add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture, stirring until no streaks of flour remain.
  9. Pour batter into prepared pan and even out the thick mixture with a spoon.
  10. Sprinkle chia seeds all over the top and bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until the top looks dry. Take care not to overbake!
  11. Remove from oven and let stand in pan until completely cool before cutting into bars.
  12. Serve with a little drizzle of honey or chocolate syrup if desired!

10 thoughts on “Eggless Honey and Chia Seed Brownies

    1. Thank you for the lovely compliment! I use a Nikon D3100, which is a pretty alright camera, but I’m looking to upgrade that to a better one soon. I usually do all my editing in Lightroom. I play around with effects until I’m satisfied with the outcome! :)

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

