Coffee-Scented Blueberry Yoghurt Muffins

James has been quite busy recently, what with juggling his 19th birthday celebrations, university assignments, group meetings and such. We’re all revved up to see the amazing Coldplay and The Temper Trap at Suncorp Stadium up in Brisbane tonight, so that should be a blast! I’m actually very excited to see The Temper Trap live. I really enjoy their music. The concert tickets are part of a birthday package I prepared for James. I also got him a fancy tie from Hugo Boss and a sexy shirt from French Connection. On Saturday, his lovely parents took all of us out for lunch at a brilliant Japanese fine dining restaurant in Broadbeach. Such gorgeous food. I shall elaborate more on the occasion in a future post, so check back for an impending restaurant review.

Blueberries are one of my favourite superfoods. While they do give us that satisfying burst of sweetness when added to our oatmeal or cereal, they also contain heaps of potent antioxidants that shield our skin against harmful free radicals and protect us against premature aging. In fact, much research has focused on the anti-aging role of blueberries.

They have been known to boost brain power and ward off Alzheimer’s. Researchers have also discovered that these amazing little berries can help lower ‘bad’ cholesterol just as effectively as prescribed drugs. In short, eat plenty of blueberries to treat yourself to gorgeous skin, get a healthy mental boost, and protect your heart.

The following recipe is one that I’ve wanted to share with you for ages. These are probably my favourite muffins in the whole wide world right now. I took my inspiration from the traditional blueberry coffee cake, adapted them into muffin form, and worked some creamy magic into the mix by adding Greek yoghurt.

The resulting little cakes were soft, milky, fluffy and full of flavour. Surprisingly, they stay like that for several days in an airtight container, so you don’t have to gobble them all up right after you bake them for fear of them becoming dry or stale.

Who can resist the mingling full-bodied flavour of coffee and the mildly sweet taste of baked blueberries in a soft, velvety muffin?

Coffee-Scented Blueberry Yoghurt Muffins

Ingredients:

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
A pinch of salt
1/3 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup raw caster sugar
1 cup Greek yoghurt
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules (dissolved in 1 tablespoon hot water)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a 12 cup muffin pan with muffin cases.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then add the Greek yoghurt and mix until smooth.
  4. Gradually stir in the eggs, followed by the dissolved coffee granules and vanilla extract. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Carefully fold the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture until just combined, then fold in the fresh blueberries.
  6. Fill each muffin case with the batter. The cases should be almost full.
  7. Bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until the tops start to brown slightly.
  8. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes before transferring muffins to a wire rack to cool.

12 thoughts on “Coffee-Scented Blueberry Yoghurt Muffins

  1. I love blueberries in any form and those muffins are now on my to-try list! Great photos, too. Loved reading your post about the TWG tea, too. Wish we had them in Canada . . .
    We are generations apart, but I love Coldplay, too; it was so great hearing/seeing them as part of the closing ceremonies for the Olympics. A great sound!

    1. Thank you, sweetheart! Blueberries are a wonderful addition to anything! Let me know how the muffins turn out if you get around to trying them! Also, perhaps TWG might open a few stores in Canada one day if they feel adventurous! :)

      Ahhh! Coldplay played such an amazing show last night. It was my first time seeing them live and they truly are great on stage! Such a powerful and moving performance!

      1. I was thinking, Angie; would these muffins work with chai instead of coffee? I like both, myself.

        Yes, it would be great to have TWG here, although I don’t know if I could afford it . . . but there’s usually something. For suxury items, I usually save up and then splurge; lots of fun . . .

        Lucky you, seeing Coldplay live!

        1. I’m not sure how a chai version would turn out, to be honest! Are you planning on using a chai spice mix made from scratch? Or will you be steeping chai tea bags in hot water?

          Saving up enough money to splurge luxury items is the best way to live! I mean, what else would you do with all that money? ;)

          1. I’m thinking of using a strong infusion from a chai tea loose leaf mix (since I have that already, thanks to one of my lovely sisters!). I know about making chai completely from scratch, but have not had time to try that yet. Most of my stuff, including kitchen items like spices, is in storage for the time being, so I would have to buy new. I’m not ready to do that and Mum has no more space for spices we don’t use regularly. One day, though . . . I will let you know how it all turns out. ~ Linne

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

