Sugar-Coated Hazelnut Buckwheat Butter Cookies

A lot of people have been coming to this blog looking for a cookie recipe involving hazelnut meal. While I do ocassionally enjoy baking with the beautifully scented nut flour, I have a habit of only doing so when I’m looking to make something low carb or gluten free. For those not familiar with the lovely ingredient, a quarter cup serving of hazelnut meal has just 5 grams of carbohydrates while a quarter cup serving of plain white flour gives you a whopping 24 grams. However, the task of figuring out a recipe that actually works when you incorporate the sandy, nutty ingredient can be a challenge.

I paired buckwheat flour with the hazelnut meal to make this an entirely gluten free cookie. The strong, nutty taste of buckwheat complements the hazelnut meal quite grandly. This is really the easiest recipe in the world if you know how to work with cold butter. That’s the only part where you may have to sweat a little. But by the end of the whole process, you’ll get some wonderful, crunchy, flaky, crumbly, buttery delights for your efforts. Trust me, it’ll all be worth it.

Sugar-Coated Hazelnut Buckwheat Butter Cookies | Eggless & Gluten-Free

Ingredients:

1/2 cup hazelnut meal
3/4 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold unsalted butter, cubed
1/4 cup granulated sugar, for coating

Preparation:

  1. Combine hazelnut meal, buckwheat flour, sugar and salt. Mix well.
  2. Cut the butter into the flour mixture, or use your fingers to rub the butter into the mixture, until the dough comes together.
  3. Roll the dough into a rough ball, cover the bowl with cling wrap and place in the fridge to chill for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Prepare the coating mixture by placing the granulated sugar in a small, shallow bowl.
  5. Just before removing chilled dough from the fridge, preheat oven to 175°C and line baking tray with non-stick baking paper.
  6. Roll chilled dough into 3/4 inch balls.
  7. One at a time, place each ball in the sugar and gently press dough down with the palm of your hand to desired thickness. Turn over and coat the other side of the cookie.
  8. Place cookies onto prepared baking tray and bake for about 15 minutes, or until egdes start to brown a little.
  9. Remove from oven, let stand for 5 minutes before carefully (cookies will be crumbly when hot!) transfering cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

12 thoughts on “Sugar-Coated Hazelnut Buckwheat Butter Cookies

    1. Hello there! I’m glad you like the photos! I use a Nikon D3100. My favourite lens is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, which I use for most of my food photography.

    1. Not a fan of hazelnuts?! But they’re so yummy! Ahhh well, that’s okay. I don’t like certain nuts myself! :) Anyway, thanks for stopping by with your kind words, Lou and Camilla!

      As for my camera, I use a Nikon D3100, a very reliable and faithful companion! My favourite lens is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G. I use it for most of my food photography. I hope this information helps!

  1. These look delicious! And I also agree that your food photography is beautiful. Very cool retro chic vibe. This hazelnut meal, do you buy it or grind it up yourself?

    1. Thank you for your lovely words, Ruby! I’m glad that you like my food photography! :) As for the hazelnut meal, I usually purchase it from the local grocery store. They’re quite readily available here at a fairly cheap price. I would grind them myself if they sold larger bags of whole hazelnuts!

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

