Baked Soft & Chewy Yeasted Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

Baked Soft & Chewy Yeasted Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

Well then. Remember that horrible sore throat I mentioned in my last post? Turns out it was just the start of something worse. While the sore throat itself went away, I developed full-blown flu symptoms, complete with sinus congestion, breathing difficulties and coughing fits. It’s been a week and a bit since, and while most of it has gone away, I still find myself having to clear my throat and lungs by coughing heavily.

Unbaked Donuts

Long story short, I didn’t have a very good Easter break. It didn’t help that my laptop died on me two days ago while I was halfway through working on an essay for my History of the Supernatural: Angels, Ghosts and Demons class. I actually had a panic attack and ended up in tears. Luckily, after many hours of trying different things, James managed to retrieve all my files and transfer all my data to an external hard drive. Unfortunately, my laptop will never again be able to start up properly. Oh well… this gives me a wonderful excuse to get myself a new one. Anyone out there have any suggestions on a good, reliable model?

Freshly Baked Donuts Freshly Baked Donuts

On the topic of donuts, I baked these quite awhile ago. I wanted to bake some yeasted spice-infused bread but ended up attempting donuts instead. Actually, I just wanted to knead some dough. I get in that mood sometimes. It’s therapeutic to me, kneading and stretching a lump of pliable dough. You also get a bit of a workout. And when you are rewarded with a product that is perfectly soft and chewy right out of the oven, you feel that sense of accomplishment wash over you.

Freshly Baked Donuts Freshly Baked Donuts

I suppose I went a little overboard with the spices in this recipe. But I do love my spices and if you’ve been following this blog for awhile, you’ll know how much I use them in my recipes. There’s a marriage of cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom in the dough itself, followed by a generous coating of some classic cinnamon sugar. The resulting taste and smell is one that is aromatic, sweet and earthy.

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Yeasted Donuts Baked Cinnamon Sugar Yeasted Donuts

Everybody loves a good donut. The soft-yet-firm chewiness is something people look forward to when they bite into one. These donuts come out of the oven beautifully risen with a slightly crisp exterior and a bread-like chewy, soft, fluffy interior. They taste absolutely amazing and are quite a bit healthier than those of the deep fried variety that are completely saturated in oil!

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Yeasted Donuts Baked Cinnamon Sugar Yeasted Donuts

Baked Soft & Chewy Yeasted Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

Ingredients:

1 cup low fat milk, warm
1 tablespoon butter
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon bread improver (optional)
1/4 cup caster sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 1/2 teaspoons instant dried yeast

for the cinnamon sugar coating
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 cup caster sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Preparation:

In a small bowl, dissolve the butter in the warm milk. In a large bowl, combine the flour, bread improver, caster sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom and yeast. Mix thoroughly and form a well in the middle. Pour the warm milk mixture into the well and use a wooden spoon to mix until all the ingredients come together. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for about 10-15 minutes or until smooth and elastic.

Unrisen Donut Dough

Gather the dough into a ball. Lightly oil a large bowl and place the ball of dough inside. Cover bowl with cling wrap and leave in a warm place to rise for about 45 minutes or until double in size.

Risen Donut Dough

Punch the air out of the dough and roll out to about 1/4″ thick, then use round cookie cutters (one small, one big) to cut out donuts. I used a 3″ and a 1 1/2″ cookie cutter.

Unbaked Donuts

Place cut outs 2 inches apart on a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper, cover loosely, and leave to rise for another 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 200°C and bake donuts for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Once baked, remove and transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Freshly Baked Donuts

To make the cinnamon coating, combine the caster sugar and ground cinnamon in a small bowl. Very lightly brush each donut with the melted butter and dip them in the cinnamon sugar, shaking off any excess. Serve immediately.

Baked Soft & Chewy Yeasted Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

25 thoughts on “Baked Soft & Chewy Yeasted Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

    1. I agree with you about it being easy! There’s no messy splattering of oil with the deep fryer! Of course, it’s a different matter when the cinnamon sugar goes everywhere… Haha.

    1. Well, bread improver is a type of flour treatment agent that conditions the dough to improve baking quality. The packaging on my bread improver states “it will improve the kneading and fermentation of dough and provide excellent volumne, texture and colour whilst also extending freshness”. Of course, you only really add a tiny bit to the mix and it’s an ingredient that can be left out entirely if you opt to! :-)

  1. Thanks so much for liking a post on my blog. Returning the <3 Find your blog interesting and love your photography of the foods. This especially looks yummmo!!! :)

  2. These look so yum! And I love that they’re baked, not fried. Appreciate your visits to foodforfun–glad if you enjoyed the top-secret cupcakes :-)

  3. Oooh, these look delicious! I’ve been wanting to try my hand at handmade, baked doughnuts for a few months now and I do think that this post has inspired me to do so very soon!

    Also, your photos are lovely.

    1. Thank you for the kind comment, sweetie! The baked version isn’t too much different from the fried one. They may not be as crispy, but the firm, chewy texture’s still there! Good on you for wanting to try it out! I hope it goes well! Best of luck! :)

    1. Hello Chin Lin! This yielded about 10 donuts for me, with some extra dough for donut holes! But you can play around with sizes if you want. Feel free to make lots of mini ones or a few large ones! :)

  4. Thank you for visiting my site. I hope you will continue to find other articles of interest.
    I love this donut recipe and plan to try it. I know I’m low on flour, but haven’t checked out what other spices I might need. I do believe I gained 5 lbs just reading your recipes.
    In spite of the weight gain, I decided to follow your blog. I’m trying to find new recipes and add to my “cookbook” easy to prepare foods.

  5. wait, no eggs?
    I love how u put together the spices, I love it. it smells really amazing. im trying to make it as I post this comment. and I will be back and tell u the result. thank you for sharing :)

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

