Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.” Edith Sitwell

I don’t know about you, but the chilly weather of late has urged me to bake a batch of simple, unsophisticated cookies. Something sweet and classic, but at the same time not too familiar to the tastebuds. So I settled for comfortable textures and distinct flavours. I decided on these melt-in-your-mouth, crisp and crumbly, oh-so-buttery cookies flavoured with a quiet but beautiful marriage of manuka honey and spice.

Unbaked Butter Cookies Baked Butter Cookies

With a texture reminiscent of dainty shortbread and Danish butter cookies, I think these are the perfect cookies to celebrate a momentous occasion, such as the both of us finally completing our university degrees. That’s right, James and I have graduated! Well, my ceremony is not until July, but James had his a week ago. And while I won’t actually be attending my own ceremony (we’ll be out of the country, travelling for a month), I will be there in spirit.

Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

The use of honey always leaves a subtle haunting flavour in baked goods. Combine this with smoky, aromatic cardamom and you get a dreamy blend that’s entirely perfect for homemade cookies. The butter in this recipe might be a little daunting to some, but you can’t have that rich, dense, crumbly cookie without some pure, unadulterated butter. If it’s any consolation, at least you don’t have to go hunting for eggs to get these babies to work.

Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

Winter doesn’t seem so bad when you’ve got a stash of spiced butter cookies, freshly baked, waiting to be nibbled on in front of the heater. I suppose a small mug of hot cocoa wouldn’t hurt, either.

Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies
adapted from Commonsense Baking | yield: about 36 cookies.

Ingredients:

2 cups self-raising flour
3/4 cup almond meal
2 teaspoons ground cardamom
a pinch of sea salt
200 grams unsalted butter, cubed
3 tablespoons honey*
1/2 cup raw caster sugar

* I used Capilano’s Bee Vital Active 5+ Manuka Honey. Not the good good stuff, but still tasty.

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 170°C and line baking tray with non-stick baking paper.

In a large bowl, combine flour, almond meal, cardamom and sea salt. Mix well, set aside. In a small saucepan, melt the butter, honey and sugar over medium-low heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is smooth.

Cubed Butter Melting Honey, Butter and Sugar

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the butter mixture. Gently mix until just combined.

Butter Cookie Dough

Using clean hands, roll tablespoonfuls of the dough into balls and place on prepared baking tray. If the dough is too sticky, slightly wet hands with water before handling dough. Dough may become dry and crumbly over time, making it hard to roll, so trust me when I say wet hands will help get the job done quicker.

Flatten the balls slightly with a fork or the underside of a glass.

Unbaked Butter Cookies

Bake for 16-18 minutes, or until lightly golden. Remove from oven and let stand on trays for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Baked Honey and Cardamom Butter Cookies Baked Honey and Cardamom Butter Cookies

17 thoughts on “Honey & Cardamom Butter Cookies

    1. Thank you! I’m thrilled to know that those cookies were a hit! They’re actually one of my favourites ;) If you ever do try these, I hope they turn out just as successful!

    1. Thank you! Oh man, it is so liberating to know that I won’t have to study for exams or write up essays any longer!

      You are right about the butter. I had just 2 cookies and knew straightaway that I had to give them to someone else lest I eat every single one of them. They’re just so rich and luscious… not too good for the waist, unfortunately.

  1. Congrats on finishing the degree! I appreciate you giving us the gift of this recipe. I’m stashing it away until a cold day in AR – they sound amazing.

  2. Congrats to you! These cookies look lovely and they are most certainly NOT unsophisticated. From reading comments, it looks like I have to hunt down your recipe for salted butterscotch cookies, too :-)

    1. Thanks, Liz! I tried very hard to make them as unsophisticated as possible, but I wanted them to be at least a little bit fancy! ;)

      If you’re all for butterscotchy goodness, by all means try them salted butterscotch cookies. You might enjoy them!

  3. Hey Anglea!

    Just wanted to say that you have a really great blog here! Your recipes are great! I try all of them out with my manwich! Hahah! I’d love to herpes. You and James seem like a really cute coupel and I wish you both the best! And thanks again for the recipes, you’re a star!

    Warm Regards,

    Peter Pentz

    PS: I don’t have an account I just have you bookmarked, hope thats okay!

  4. These cookies look so yummy! I had cardamom shortbread cookies at a restaurant recently, and they were amazing. I’m sure yours is just as good or even better! Will save this recipe for later. Thanks!

    1. To be honest, I’d never had any type of cookie flavoured with cardamom before these ones, so I wasn’t sure what to expect! Thank goodness they turned out really well. Such a unique flavour!

  5. I made these tonight and they were delicious, except they had a hint of tart aftertaste… Im trying to figure out if it comes from the cardamom or the honey or possibly the butter? Any clue? Thats a minor gripe though because otherwise these cookies are amazing. Here is a photo: http://instagram.com/p/u_xqHAsucp/

    Gonna try a few more of your recipes out, thanks for the great blog!

    1. Hello Karo! The cookies you made look very pretty! I love the patterns!

      Well, the tart aftertaste you mentioned could very well be the cardamom mixing with the honey. Some honeys have a very strong, almost bitter aftertaste (manuka is an example), and cardamom has a fairly sharp and harsh bite if used too much. Next time you make these, you could try reducing the amount of cardamom used in the recipe to make them a little less overpowering, and experiment with lighter types of honeys (clover honey and yellow box honey are great mild-tasting honeys).

      Hope this helps! Good luck in the kitchen!

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

