Blueberry Blondie Bars {with coconut oil}

Blueberry Blondie Bars Blueberries

This was an experiment. What I mean to say is, I didn’t quite expect the blueberries to sink to the bottom. But they did, and I really should have anticipated that. Also, these turned out less like a dense, decadent blondie and more like an über-moist butter cake. Well, I’m not complaining. These were pretty darn awesome. Glorious hints of tart blueberry and fragrant coconut rolled into one gooey mess. Delicious? Everyone in this household said “yes”.

Blueberries Blueberries

Half of me wanted very much to make a chocolate version of this. You know, those decadent brownies everyone loves so much. But I’m glad I decided to stay away from the cocoa for simplicity’s sake. Like buttery bars with a blueberry jam base, we’re talking about a sweet treat that makes the ultimate coffee accompaniment right here. Don’t mind if I help myself!

Blueberry Blondie Bars Blueberries

I would now like to take some time to tell you guys that James and I will be escaping the confines of the Gold Coast this weekend and won’t be back until August. All that travelling means we’ll be putting up new content a little less often. But fear not! We’ll try our hardest to keep you up-to-date with our adventures. Follow me on Twitter (@angieisagirl) for quick snippets and check back here for sporadic blog posts. If you’re lucky, we’ll have some pretty pictures of Southeast Asia gracing this blog very soon. For now, please enjoy these blondies.

Blueberry Blondie Bars Blueberry Blondie Bars Blueberry Blondie Bars

Blueberry Blondie Bars {with coconut oil}

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
a pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups raw caster sugar
150g unsalted butter, softened
50g coconut oil, softened
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line a 8″ x 12″ baking pan with non-stick baking paper.
  2. In a small bowl, combine flour and salt. Mix well, set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter, coconut oil and sugar together until smooth, then add eggs and vanilla. Mix thoroughly.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the mixture and gently stir to combine. Fold in the blueberries.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan, smooth out the top and bake for about 40-45 minutes, or until the top reaches a uniform brown colour.
  6. Remove pan from oven and let cool completely before cutting into bars.

Blueberries

31 thoughts on “Blueberry Blondie Bars {with coconut oil}

  1. There is certainly a blueberry theme going around WordPress. I have seen at least 6 blueberry recipes! This one, however, has coconut oil and I am a sucker for anything coconut. They look fantastic!

    1. I’ve noticed! Everyone has been hit by the blueberry bug! Probably because many people have been using them in 4th of July recipes. Blueberries help with the whole red, white, blue theme! ;)

  2. Super pretty! And the ingredients are easy to find, too! (except the blueberries, which are rare and expensive in my town) Maybe I should try using strawberries instead! :D

    1. Imported blueberries are indeed expensive. When they’re not in season here, they cost so much! So yes, give strawberries a try! They’ll probably work if you chop them up into smaller pieces! :)

      1. I will try it with all the berries and currants I can find; I will probably use raisin, sultana and date-fruit, too! The fasting month is super near and the streets are flooded with date-fruits! :D
        I will let you know how it turns out. :D

  3. These look amazing Angie. I love, love the combination of blueberries and coconut. Weird that the blueberries sunk. I wouldn’t have expected that either! Glad that you & James have a chance to escape for a while, have a fantastic holiday! xx

    1. Thank you, Laura! I’m sure we’ll have a great time! As for the sinking blueberries, I guess I should have coated them in flour first. That would probably have stopped them from sinking!

    1. These are just plain ol’ blueberry & coconut oil blondies. The rosemary was used for aesthetic photography purposes. I felt the pictures needed a bit of green to make ’em pretty.

    1. They do look quite pretty, don’t they? I got quite an unexpected surprise when I cut into them and found them all on the bottom! But it wasn’t an unwelcome surprise! :)

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

