Birdlife at the Singapore Botanic Gardens

Lesser Whistling Duck

After a lovely talk with a good friend of mine this afternoon (one whom I hadn’t seen in a ridiculous three or so years), I have been inspired to pursue what I am most passionate about: photography. Honestly, so much goes on in Singapore. The Gold Coast cannot quite compare to this vibrant little island city. There have been plenty of opportunities for photography here; it is a country that just has so much to offer, from wildlife to fashion to food to culture… the list is endless. James and I recently gallivanted the Singapore Botanic Gardens, where we witnessed a caucasian family feeding the birds and turtles at one of the lakes. The ducks here are different from the ones we get in Australia. They are absolutely adorable.

Lesser Whistling Ducks and Pigeons Lesser Whistling Duck Lesser Whistling Duck Lesser Whistling Duck Lesser Whistling Ducks Black Swan Black Swan Black Swans Turtle Lesser Whistling Duck Lesser Whistling Ducks Lesser Whistling Ducks and Pigeons Lesser Whistling Duck Tree Sparrow

SINGAPORE BOTANIC GARDENS
1 Cluny Road, Tanglin
Singapore 259569
Opening Hours: 5:00am – 12 midnight (daily)
http://www.sbg.org.sg/index.asp

7 thoughts on “Birdlife at the Singapore Botanic Gardens

  1. You are in Singapore?!?! I’m from Sg =) It’s funny how we think the grass is always greener on the other side. Frankly, I havent explored much of Sg’s wildlife, but when I was in London, I explored all the parks and was tickled by their adorable squirrels, swans, and ducks. Enjoy your stay!

    1. I was born in Singapore! So it’s pretty much my hometown. And yes, I didn’t realise how amazing the country was until I moved away. Then I started to miss the simple things, like the cheap and delicious food, convenience of public transport and vibrancy of life. I always look forward to visiting the island city! :)

  2. I have to agree with sabrina – the grass is definitely greener. I don’t really have a lack of things to photograph here, but I certainly think london’s s a little more amenable for things to photograph!

    1. I can’t speak for London because I’ve never been there, but I do find life on the Gold Coast a little too slow. Singapore, being a city that never seems to sleep, is a great deal more active and interesting!

  3. Which camera do you use? Wonderful pictures by the way :) I wrote about the Botanic Gardens too-http://mynatureexperiences.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/singapore-botanic-gardens/ Love your blog <3 Hope you had a good time in Singapore!

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Lavanya! For now, I’m using a Nikon D3200. I took a look at your post on the Botanic Gardens and wow! Such great photography… I still can’t believe you’re only 12! :)

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

