Orange & Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

I’m sure many of you have realised by now that we’re back home in Australia. The Gold Coast is still as cold as ever, making its last journey through winter. Soon, it will be spring. Perhaps a new beginning for me. I am a fresh graduate; my certificate’s all ready to be framed and mounted somewhere on my wall. To be honest, I’m not sure where to go from here. I have a few ideas, but they’re all very loose ones. I’m finding it all very hard and overwhelming to pick and choose. It’s a little scary. But I suppose a lot of people come to this stage in life and manage to find their way sooner or later. I hope my turn comes soon.

Dark Chocolate Squares The Process of Making Brownies Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

Something to comfort the soul, in the meantime. Brownies. And not the hard and heavy kind. The soft and chewy, if you will. With plenty of earthy nuts buried in its dark, chocolate depths. This is one of James’ creations. And it’s quite brilliant. Never have I tasted a brownie made with cake flour before (at least I don’t think so), and this recipe calls for it. Obviously, cake flour delivers a more tender, delicate crumb from its lower protein content. The resulting brownies are a little bit airier than ones made with regular all-purpose. Not that you see me complaining. I think it’s genius.

Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

There’s a hint of cinnamon added here. You’d be amazed how much of it you can actually taste. Same goes for the orange. Very familiar flavours. Comforting, I think is the word. These brownies are comforting. They are like a pat on the back or a knowing embrace when you feel a little weighed down about life-changing decisions.

Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

One of the best ways to eat them, we’ve decided, is to place a warm piece in a small bowl and shower it in some cold soy milk. Just enough to soak the surface and gather at the bottom. Then spoon your way to fudgy heaven. I think this is the quickest way to fall in love with these beautiful squares. Of course, you can’t go wrong with some ice cream on the side if that’s what you prefer instead.

Brownies with Soy Milk Brownies with Soy Milk Orange & Cinnamon Brownies

Orange & Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup cake flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
a pinch of salt
170g unsalted butter, cubed
100g dark chocolate, chopped
70g white chocolate, chopped
1 teaspoon orange zest
1 1/2 cups raw sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
1/2 teaspoon instant coffee granules (optional)
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Preparation:

  1. Line a 7×11″ cake pan with foil and lightly grease the surface. Preheat oven to 160°C.
  2. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Mix well, set aside.
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter together over a double boiler until smooth and glossy. Add the orange zest and mix.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar until most of it melts.
  5. Stir in the cinnamon, vanilla and coffee granules, then gradually add the orange juice, stirring continuously.
  6. In 3 or 4 increments, add the beaten eggs, mixing well each time.
  7. Slowly fold in the flour and the walnuts.
  8. Pour brownie mixture into prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and let cool completely in pan before cutting into bars.

Orange and Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

31 thoughts on “Orange & Cinnamon Chocolate Brownies

    1. Thank you, sweetie! I use a Nikon D3200 at the moment. It’s been a faithful companion this past year. A few tips? Sure! Well, one of the best food photography tips I can give is: know your camera. Know what it’s capable of; experiment a little with its settings. Then you can work on the type of pictures you want to take. I find that developing a specific style of photography helps. For example, as you can see on my blog, I take a lot of close-ups, mostly with soft colours and shallow depth-of-field. With that, you would need specific lenses, and perhaps familiarity with a post-processing program. These require some amount of money and effort, but when you get good at it, it can be very rewarding!

  1. Who doesn’t love some brownies dunked in cold milk?! This is pure comfort food for snacking in bed ;). I like the idea of pastry flour to give it a lighter texture and the addition of orange zest. May I also ask how you create the bluish rustic tones in your photos?

    It’s better to take your time to explore what life has to offer than to rush headlong into something. All the best to whatever you choose!

    1. Haha, anything chocolatey makes for good comfort food! Endorphins! As for the bluish rustic tones you mentioned, my kitchen bench top is made of dark polished stone, which seems to reflect a lot of muted bluish light into the camera lens. I guess that’s not such a bad thing!

      Thank you, Sabrina! You offer very sage advice! :)

  2. Hey Angie,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today and starring my post. This is a really cute site you have here. I’m going to spend a while clicking around. Anyways, hi. I’m Kait.
    :)

    1. Hello, Kait! It’s wonderful to meet you and I am very glad you stopped by! I LOVE your photography very much! I’ve seen your portfolio and I think you have taken some very amaaazing pictures. So much love for your work! :)

  3. Not only is your cooking amazing, but your cookware and countertops are amazing! Things for me to plan on getting! Love it!

    1. Thank you! I’m always on the lookout for new cookware. They can get very expensive, but it’s always nice when you manage to get your hands on something pretty for the kitchen!

  4. Hi there! I’m considering making this for a friend’s birthday, but would have to make it on a Friday morning, then transport it during a redeye flight to serve that Saturday afternoon. Do you think this would hold up ok?
    Thanks!

    1. Hi Felicia!

      I think they would hold up pretty well as long as they’re stored in an airtight container, closely packed together. Maybe wrap them safely in foil before placing them in the container to prevent them from drying out too quickly. This also prevents them from being knocked around and breaking apart whilst being transported.

      If hope this helps! :)

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

