Boom Boom Burgers @ Burra Street, Chevron Island

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

If you’re looking for a nice, cosy place to get a filling lunch on the Gold Coast, I highly recommend the newly opened Boom Boom Burgers. I received a very generous email invitation from them a couple of weeks ago and decided to give the place a try this weekend. Of course, I did some research beforehand, looking up their website and taking note of their amazing menu before rocking up with James.

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

Boom Boom Burgers is located on Chevron Island, which is a very convenient location for us. Our first impression? Lovely little space, impeccably friendly service. The lady who waited on us (I forgot to ask her name!) was more than happy to answer our questions and offer recommendations. We were lucky to arrive when it was still quiet. As we sat through the lunch hour, the whole place started filling up with people!

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

They offer an extensive range of beers, wines, cocktails and spirits. Very limited non-alcoholic drinks, I have to say. James and I settled on lemon, lime & bitters and pineapple juice respectively. Both were served in chic little drinking jars. Their food menu offers burgers (of course), hot dogs, tapas, salads, finger foods like onion rings and zucchini chips, a few large mains (10-hour slow cooked lamb shoulder, anyone?) and a handful of desserts.

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

James ordered their signature house special burger – the Smoking Hot ($15). Now, the guys at Boom Boom Burgers live by the belief that dining should be made theatrical and dramatic. Order this burger and you’ll understand. The burger arrives sitting under a bell jar filled with pale, wafting smoke. When the lid is lifted, the smoke dissipates and eventually reveals your meal. It’s all very elaborate and extravagant. I wish I captured the whole process better on camera!

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron IslandBoom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

The burger itself consists of smoked 150-days-old aged beef, sliced mushrooms, spinach, cheddar cheese, cucumber and their secret sauce. According to James, the beef was very flavourful and tender and paired well with the mushrooms and cheese. He did mention that the cucumbers added a great textural crunch but would have worked better if they were pickled instead – “something strong and tangy to cut through the savoury meatiness of the patty”.

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

I couldn’t decide between the Pig Me Up ($14) and the Drunken Cow ($15) burgers. Good thing they had slider versions of them (2 for $15), so I had both! The Pig Me Up is one of the most amaaaazing things I have ever eaten. This is not an exaggeration. I was raving excitedly to James the whole time I was eating it! I don’t usually do that (I like to think I’m very composed when it comes to food) but yep, that’s how much I liked it! The slow cooked sticky-sweet pork belly, green apple chutney and blue cheese combination worked ridiculously well. I am definitely getting the full sized version next time!

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

The Pig Me Up was a sensation of sweetness wrapped in a bun. The Drunken Cow, on the other hand, struck me as the complete opposite. It is the ultimate savoury burger and boy does it deliver a powerful flavour hit. Multiple flavour hits, actually. Eating it made me believe that each ingredient was deliberately selected for being ridiculously strong in flavour. Whisky-soaked eye fillet, chunky tomato chutney, seeded mustard, vintage cheddar, chopped onion, rocket leaves. At first I had to wrap my head around the whole flavour experience. It really hits you hard, this one. Even James told me it was “too much” for him, which surprised the both of us because he’s usually a fan of strong-tasting foods. I loved it. I loved every bite.

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

We also ordered some sweet and sticky Free Range Buffalo Wings ($11) and a side of their signature Puff Potatoes ($5), which went quite well with their House Secret Mayo ($1). Next time, we might have a go at the slow cooked pork ribs and zucchini chips.

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

Overall, I give Boom Boom Burgers a thumbs up for quality comfort food and lovely service. I think they try really hard at making customers happy. They seem passionate about their business and while they might be a new establishment, I can see them attracting a huge following. Great job so far!

Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island Boom Boom Burgers Chevron Island

BOOM BOOM BURGERS
7-9 Burra Street, Chevron Island
Surfers Paradise, QLD 4217
Opening hours: 10am – 10pm daily
www.boomboomburgers.com.au

3 thoughts on “Boom Boom Burgers @ Burra Street, Chevron Island

  1. Pork belly… Yum!
    Your photos are great (Steam is tricky, sin’t it? Anytime I try to take a shot of a sizzling frying pan, my photos just lookout of focus.)
    OK. Now I’m hungry. Your fault.

    1. That pork belly burger, I’m still dreaming about it!

      Yeah, I always find steam and smoke tricky. And it’s especially frustrating when you’ve only got a few seconds to take the shot before it’s all gone! :(

      Thank you for your lovely comment!

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

