Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

To be honest, this household has recently gone through what I would call an Italian cuisine phase. We’ve been making huge pizzas from scratch (James makes the most amazing parmesan-flavoured pizza base) and cooking up delicious pasta (bucatini all’amatriciana has now become my new favourite), all because my older brother is here for a week-long visit. Having a guest in the house generates some amount of desire to cook extravagantly. But now that the culinary frenzy has died down, we’ve been left with a lot of stray Italian-inspired ingredients sitting around.

Semi-Dried Tomatoes Chilli Flakes Dry Ingredients

Cue savoury muffins. Cheesy and spicy savoury muffins, made extra special with gritty polenta and chunks of semi-dried tomatoes. The polenta gives these puffy muffins a pleasantly crisp exterior; the chilli, a satisfying zing (and this one is pretty zingy, trust me); the cheese, a savoury must-have; the semi-dried tomatoes, a hint of juicy sweetness. I threw in some garlic powder too, for an added kick of flavour. And you can’t go wrong with the fruity, nutty perfume of extra virgin olive oil.

Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

They could do with a little salt, I’ll admit. Something to remember next time. But I like James’ suggestion, too: to cut them open and slather them with salted butter. That’d be nice. However, if you’re one for simpler flavours or would just like to keep everything nice and healthy, have these muffins as is. Bake them the night before for a quick breakfast pick-me-up in the morning.

Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup self-raising flour
3/4 cup polenta (cornmeal)
3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon dried chilli flakes
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 large egg, beaten
1 cup milk, cold
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup chopped semi-dried tomatoes

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 180ºC and line a 12 cup muffin pan with paper cases.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, polenta, grated cheese, chilli flakes and garlic powder. Mix well, set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the egg, milk and olive oil. Pour mixture into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Gently fold in the chopped tomatoes. Make sure not to overmix the batter.
  4. Carefully fill each muffin case about 3/4 full. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the tops are firm and golden.
  5. Remove from oven and let muffins stand in pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Best eaten warm!

Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins


21 thoughts on “Savoury Polenta & Semi-Dried Tomato Chilli-Cheese Muffins

  1. I can’t wait to make this! I’ve actually never made a savory muffin at home – I usually crave sweet, but these sound so good. Plus, I’m always looking for new polenta recipes!

    1. I’m the same – I love sweet muffins, so savoury ones never really cross my mind. But it’s always good to try different things with polenta! And I guess this recipe is just one of those where you use up pesky leftover ingredients lying around from yesterday’s dinner! ;)

      1. Sounds perfect for those days when I have leftover ingredients but don’t feel like eating the same thing again! :) Thanks for sharing the recipe! I’ll definitely be giving it a try!

  2. Mmmmmm, these look incredible!! Savory and spicy with a hint of sweetness — that sounds like my idea of heaven. Definitely putting it on my list of things to try. Thanks for posting!

    1. Always happy to share! Try experimenting with different cheeses! That’s something I want to do one day – make the ultimate cheesy muffin full of sharp flavour!

  3. I tried making these and they were probably the best savory muffins I’ve ever had. They were super simple to make and delicious!

Comments? Questions? Feel free to say anything!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.